Best of the CMHC Distinguished Faculty - Atlanta, GA


Robert H. Eckel, MD

  • Professor of Medicine, Emeritus
  • Division of Endocrinology, Metabolism and Diabetes
  • Division of Cardiology
  • Professor of Physiology and Biophysics, Emeritus
  • Charles A. Boettcher II Chair in Atherosclerosis
  • University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
  • Aurora, CO

Jay S. Skyler, MD

  • Professor of Medicine, Pediatrics, & Psychology
  • Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism
  • University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
  • Deputy Director for Clinical & Academic Programs
  • Diabetes Research Institute
  • Miami, FL

George L. Bakris, MD

  • Professor of Medicine
  • Director, ASH Comprehensive Hypertension Center
  • University of Chicago Medicine
  • Chicago, IL

Christie M. Ballantyne, MD

  • Professor of Medicine
  • Chief, Section of Cardiovascular Research
  • Chief, Section of Cardiology
  • Department of Medicine, Baylor College of Medicine
  • Director, Center for Cardiovascular Disease Prevention
  • Baylor College of Medicine
  • Methodist DeBakey Heart Center
  • Houston, TX

Distinguished Faculty

Harold E. Bays, MD

  • Medical Director/President
  • Louisville Metabolic and Atherosclerosis
  • Research Center, Inc.
  • Louisville, KY

Keith C. Ferdinand, MD, FACC, FAHA

  • Professor of Medicine
  • Tulane University School of Medicine
  • Tulane Heart and Vascular Institute
  • New Orleans, LA

Martha M. Funnell, MS, RN, CDE

  • Associate Research Scientist
  • Department of Learning Health Sciences
  • University of Michigan Medical School
  • Ann Arbor, MI

Terry A. Jacobson, MD

  • President, National Lipid Association
  • Professor of Medicine, Emory University Director
  • Office of Health Promotion & Disease Prevention
  • Co-Director, Lipid & CV Risk Reduction Program
  • Grady Health Systems
  • Atlanta, GA

James A. Underberg, MD

  • Lipidology & Cardiovascular Disease Prevention
  • Clinical Assistant Professor of Medicine
  • NYU Medical School & NYU Center for CV Prevention
  • Director, Bellevue Hospital Lipid Clinic
  • President-Elect National Lipid Association
  • New York, NY

Richard E. Pratley, MD

  • Samuel E. Crockett Chair in Diabetes Research
  • Medical Director, AdventHealth Diabetes Institute
  • Senior Investigator and Diabetes Program Lead, AdventHealth Translational Research Institute; Adjunct Professor of Medicine, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
  • AdventHealth
  • Orlando, FL

Robert J. Tanenberg, MD

  • Professor of Medicine
  • Division of Endocrinology
  • Brody School of Medicine
  • Medical Director
  • Diabetes and Obesity Institute
  • East Carolina University
  • Greenville, NC

Peter P. Toth, MD, PhD

  • Dir., Preventative Cardiology, CGH Medical Ctr
  • Prof., Clinical Family and Community Medicine
  • Univ. of Illinois College of Medicine
    Peoria, Illinois
  • Professor of Clinical Medicine
  • Michigan State Univ. College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • East Lansing, MI

Pamela B. Morris, MD

  • Director, Seinsheimer Cardiovascular Health Program
  • Co-Director, Women's Heart Care
  • Medical University of South Carolina
  • Charleston, SC