2016 CMHC West - Chairpersons & Distinguished Faculty


Christie M. Ballantyne, MD

  • Professor of Medicine
  • Chief, Section of Cardiovascular Research
  • Chief, Section of Cardiology
  • Department of Medicine, Baylor College of Medicine
  • Director, Center for Cardiovascular Disease Prevention
  • Baylor College of Medicine
  • Methodist DeBakey Heart Center
  • Houston, TX

Jay S. Skyler, MD

  • Professor of Medicine, Pediatrics, & Psychology
  • Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism
  • University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
  • Deputy Director for Clinical & Academic Programs
  • Diabetes Research Institute
  • Miami, FL

Distinguished Faculty

George L. Bakris, MD

  • Professor of Medicine
  • Director, ASH Comprehensive Hypertension Center
  • University of Chicago Medicine
  • Chicago, IL

Harold E. Bays, MD

  • Medical Director/President
  • Louisville Metabolic and Atherosclerosis
  • Research Center, Inc.
  • Louisville, KY

Thomas A. Buchanan, MD

  • Vice Dean for Research
  • Director, Southern California Clinical
  • and Translational Service Institute
  • Co-director, USC Diabetes and Obesity Research Institute
  • Chief, Division of Endocrinology & Diabetes
  • Department of Medicine
  • Los Angeles, CA

Matthew J. Budoff, MD

  • Professor of Medicine
  • David Geffen School of Medicine
  • Program Director & Director of Cardiac CT
  • Division of Cardiology
  • Harbor-UCLA Medical Center
  • Torrance, CA

Daniel Einhorn, MD

  • Medical Director, Scripps Whittier Diabetes Institute
  • Clinical Professor of Medicine
  • University of California San Diego
  • Associate Editor, Journal of Diabetes
  • President, Diabetes and Endocrine Associates
  • La Jolla, CA

Sergio Fazio, MD, PhD

  • The William and Sonja Connor
  • Chair of Preventive Cardiology
  • Professor of Medicine and Physiology & Pharmacology
  • Director, Center for Preventive Cardiology
  • Knight Cardiovascular Institute
  • Oregon Health and Science University
  • Portland, OR

Gregg C. Fonarow, MD

  • Professor of Medicine
  • Director, Ahmanson-UCLA Preventative Cardiology Program
  • Co-Director, UCLA Preventative Cardiology Program
  • Co-Chief, UCLA Division of Cardiology
  • The Eliot Corday Chair in Cardiovascular Medicine and Science
  • Los Angeles, CA

Robert A. Harrington, MD

  • Arthur L. Bloomfield Professor of Medicine
  • Chairman of the Department of Medicine
    Stanford University
  • Stanford, CA

Michael D. Jensen, MD

  • Thomas J. Watson, Jr. Professorship
  • in Honor of Dr. Robert L. Frye
  • Mayo College of Medicine
  • Professor of Medicine
  • Division of Endocrinology
  • Mayo Clinic
  • Rochester, MN

Samuel Klein, MD

  • William H. Danforth Professor of Medicine
    and Nutritional Science
  • Chief, Division of Geriatrics and Nutritional Sciences
  • Director, Center for Human Nutrition
  • Washington University School of Medicine
  • St. Louis, MO

Joshua W. Knowles, MD

  • Assistant Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine
  • Stanford University Medical Center
  • Stanford, CA

Kelly D. Myers

  • Chief Technology Officer
  • The FH Foundation
  • Pasadena, CA

Darren McGuire, MD, MHSc

  • Professor of Medicine
  • University of Texas
  • Southwestern Medical Center
  • Dallas, TX

Anne L. Peters, MD

  • Professor, Keck School of Medicine
  • Director, Clinical Diabetes Programs
  • University of Southern California
  • Los Angeles, CA

Peter J. Turnbaugh, PhD

  • Assistant Professor
  • Department of Microbiology & Immunology
  • G.W. Hooper Research Foundation
  • Medical Director
  • Vascular Ctr. of the Bluhm Cardiovascular Institute
  • Northwestern Memorial Hospital
  • San Francisco, CA

James A. Underberg, MD

  • Lipidology & Cardiovascular Disease Prevention
  • Clinical Assistant Professor of Medicine
  • NYU Medical School & NYU Center for CV Prevention
  • Director, Bellevue Hospital Lipid Clinic
  • President-Elect National Lipid Association
  • New York, NY
Back to CMHC West Home Page