Robert H. Eckel, MD

  • Professor of Medicine
  • Division of Endocrinology, Metabolism and Diabetes
  • Division of Cardiology
  • Professor of Physiology and Biophysics
  • Charles A. Boettcher II Chair in Atherosclerosis
  • Director, T32 in Obesity and Cardiovascular Disease
  • University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
  • Director, Lipid Clinic, University Hospital
  • Aurora, CO

Christie M. Ballantyne, MD

  • Professor of Medicine
  • Chief, Section of Cardiovascular Research
  • Chief, Section of Cardiology
  • Department of Medicine, Baylor College of Medicine
  • Director, Center for Cardiovascular Disease Prevention
  • Baylor College of Medicine
  • Methodist DeBakey Heart Center
  • Houston, TX

Jay S. Skyler, MD

  • Professor of Medicine, Pediatrics, & Psychology
  • Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism
  • University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
  • Deputy Director for Clinical & Academic Programs
  • Diabetes Research Institute
  • Miami, FL

George L. Bakris, MD

  • Professor of Medicine
  • Director, ASH Comprehensive Hypertension Center
  • University of Chicago Medicine
  • Chicago, IL

Senior Planning Committee

Deepak L. Bhatt, MD, MPH

  • Professor of Medicine
  • Harvard Medical School
  • Executive Director
  • Interventional Cardiovascular Programs
  • Brigham and Women's Hospital Heart and Vascular Center
  • Boston, MA

Pamela B. Morris, MD

  • Director, Seinsheimer Cardiovascular Health Program
  • Co-Director, Women's Heart Care
  • Medical University of South Carolina
  • Charleston, SC

Keith C. Ferdinand, MD, FACC, FAHA

  • Professor of Medicine
  • Tulane University School of Medicine
  • Tulane Heart and Vascular Institute
  • New Orleans, LA

Clyde W. Yancy, MD, MSc, MACP

  • Magerstadt Professor of Medicine
  • Professor of Medical Social Sciences
  • Chief, Div. of Cardiology, Northwestern Univ.
  • Feinberg School of Medicine
  • Assoc. Director, Bluhm Cardiovascular Institute
  • Northwestern Memorial Hospital
  • Chicago, IL

Distinguished Faculty

Kim K. Birtcher, PharmD

  • Clinical Professor
  • University of Houston College of Pharmacy
  • Houston, TX

Javed Butler, MD, MPH, MBA

  • Professor and Chairman, Department of Medicine
  • University of Mississippi
  • Jackson, MS

James de Lemos, MD

  • Professor of Medicine
  • University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
  • Dallas, TX

Stephen Devries, MD, FACC

  • Executive Director
  • Gaples Institute for Integrative Cardiology
  • Deerfield, IL

Daniel J. Drucker, MD

  • Professor of Medicine
  • Lunenfeld Tanenbaum Research Institute
  • Mt. Sinai Hospital
  • University of Toronto
  • Toronto, Ontario, Canada

W. Timothy Garvey, MD

  • Butterworth Professor
  • Director, Diabetes Research Center
  • University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • Birmingham, AL

John E. Hall, PhD

  • Arthur C. Guyton Professor and Chair
  • Department of Physiology and Biophysics
  • Director, Mississippi Center for Obesity Research
  • University of Mississippi Medical Center
  • Jackson, MS

Irl B. Hirsch, MD

  • Professor of Medicine
  • Diabetes Treatment and Teaching Chair
  • University of Washington Medical Center
  • Medical Director
  • UWMC Diabetes Care Center
  • Seattle, WA

Mariell Jessup, MD

  • Chief Science and Medical Officer
  • American Heart Association
  • Dallas, TX

Amit Khera, MD, MSc

  • Associate Director, Precision Medicine Unit, Center for Genomic Medicine, MGH
  • Associate Director, Cardiovascular Disease Initiative, Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard
  • Instructor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
  • Cardiologist, Corrigan Minehan Heart Center, MGH
  • Massachusetts General Hospital
  • Boston, MA

Davida F. Kruger, MSN, APNBC, BCADM

  • Certified Nurse Practitioner
  • Henry Ford Health System
  • Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes, Bone and Mineral Disease
  • Detroit, MI

Margo Minissian, PhD, ACNP

  • Nurse Scientist
  • Cardiology Nurse Practitioner
  • Clinical Lipid Specialist
  • Barbra Streisand Women’s Heart Center, Cedars-Sinai Heart Institute
  • Los Angeles, CA

Anne L. Peters, MD

  • Professor, Keck School of Medicine
  • Director, Clinical Diabetes Programs
  • University of Southern California
  • Los Angeles, CA

Julio Rosenstock, MD

  • Director, Dallas Diabetes and Endocrine Center
  • Clinical Professor of Medicine
  • University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
  • Dallas, TX

*Professional Medical Education (PME) presenter
**PME presenter and General Session/CME Symposium presenter