CMHC Faculty Members

Faculty of Tarsus Medical Group are leaders in healthcare

No data was found

James de Lemos

James de Lemos



Dr. de Lemos is Professor of Medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center and holds the Sweetheart Ball-Kern Wildenthal, MD, PhD Distinguished Chair in Cardiology. He graduated from Harvard Medical School and completed an Internal Medicine Residency at UT Southwestern Medical Center, where he also served as Chief Medical Resident. He completed a fellowship in Cardiovascular Medicine and served on the faculty at the Brigham and Women’s Hospital before returning to UT Southwestern Medical School. He has served as the Cardiology Service Chief at Parkland Memorial Hospital, and the Cardiology Fellowship Director at UT Southwestern. He has held positions on multiple committees of the AHA and ACC, including the STEMI Guideline Committee, and as Chair of the Research and Publications Committee for the NCDR ACTION-GWTG registry. He is a standing member of the FDA’s Cardiorenal Advisory Panel. He is now the Executive Editor for Circulation, and has previously served on the editorial boards of the Journal of the American College of Cardiology, the American Journal of Cardiology and the American Heart Journal. His primary research interests are in early detection, risk assessment and management of cardiovascular disease, with a particular focus on the role of cardiovascular biomarkers. His research has evaluated existing biomarkers such as B-type natriuretic peptide, C-reactive protein and cardiac troponins as well as novel biomarkers reflecting biological pathways of disease. He was the lead author of the Z phase of the A to Z trial, an international trial investigating different cholesterol lowering strategies in patients with acute coronary syndromes. He has mentored >30 post-doctoral research trainees and has authored or coauthored over 300 manuscripts or book chapters. He has won several teaching and mentorship awards, including the 2015 Women in Cardiology Mentoring Award by the AHA. He has been elected to the Association of University Cardiologists, the American Society of Clinical Investigation, and the Association of American Physicians.

Education and Training

Professional Highlights


Sign up to receive updates on educational opportunities, complimentary content, exclusive discounts, and more.