CMHC Faculty Members

Faculty of Tarsus Medical Group are leaders in healthcare

Spero M. Manson, PhD

Aurora, Colorado

Spero M. Manson, PhD

Medical Anthropologist


Spero M. Manson, Ph.D., is a Distinguished Professor of Public Health and Psychiatry at the Colorado School of Public Health at the University of Colorado Denver Anschutz Medical Center. As a member of the Pembina Band of Chippewa, Dr. Manson is widely acknowledged as one of the nation’s leading authorities on Indian and Native health. He holds the position of Colorado Trust Chair in American Indian Health and directs the Centers for American Indian and Alaska Native Health at the University of Colorado. Dr. Manson pursues research, program development, training and collaboration with 250 Native communities that span rural, reservation, urban and village settings in the U.S. He has secured more than $250 million in sponsored research to support this work and has published more than 250 articles on the assessment, epidemiology, treatment, and prevention of physical harm, mental health disorders, and alcohol and drug dependency over the developmental lifespan of Native people.

Education and Training

  • PhD in Anthropology, University of Minnesota, 1980
  • Master of Arts in Anthropology, University of Minnesota, 1975
  • Bachelor of Arts in Anthropology, University of Washington, 1972

Professional Highlights

  • Elizabeth Fries Health Education Award, CDC Foundation, 2021
  • Regents Fellow, American College of Psychiatrists, 2020
  • Carl Taube Award for Lifetime Contribution to the Field of Mental Health, American Public Health Association, 2019
  • Bronislaw Malinowski Award, Society for Applied Anthropology, 2019
  • Special recognition award, Indian Health Service, 1985, 1996, 2004, 2011
  • Health Disparities Award for Excellence, National Institutes of Health, 2008
  • Distinguished Mentor Award, Gerontological Society of America, 2006-2007
  • George Foster Award for Excellence, Society for Medical Anthropology, 2006
  • Nickens Award, Association of American Medical Colleges, 2006
  • Elected Member, National Academy of Medicine, 2002
  • Rema Lapouse Mental Health Epidemiology Award, American Public Health Association, 1998


Sign up to receive updates on educational opportunities, complimentary content, exclusive discounts, and more.