CMHC Faculty Members

Faculty of Tarsus Medical Group are leaders in healthcare

Javed Butler, MD, MPH, MBA

Jackson, Mississippi

Javed Butler, MD, MPH, MBA



Dr. Javed Butler is professor and chair of the Department of Medicine at University of Mississippi Medical Center in Jackson Mississippi, where he is also Patrick H. Lehan Chair of Cardiovascular Research. He is board certified in cardiovascular medicine and advanced heart failure and transplant medicine. His research interests focus on clinical trials in patients with heart failure, a topic on which he’s authored more than 650 peer-reviewed publications. Before joining the University of Mississippi, Dr. Butler was Charles A. Gargano Professor and director of the Division of Cardiovascular Medicine and co-director of the Heart Institute at State University of New York (SUNY) Stony Brook University. Previously, he had served as the director for heart failure research at Emory University and director of the heart and heart-lung transplant programs at Vanderbilt University.

Education and Training

  • Master in Business Administration, Emory University Goizueta Business School, 2015
  • Cardiac Imaging Fellowship, Massachusetts General Hospital at the Harvard Medical School, 2006
  • Cardiology Fellowship, Vanderbilt
  • Heart Failure and Transplant Fellowship, Vanderbilt University, 1998
  • Cardiovascular Disease Fellowship, Vanderbilt University, 1998
  • Master of Public Health, Harvard University School of Public Health, 1998
  • Internal Medicine Residency, Yale University, 1995
  • Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery (MBBS Medical Degree), Aga Khan University, Karachi, Pakistan, 1990
  • Higher Secondary Certificate, Adamjee Government Science College, Karachi, Pakistan, 1984

Professional Highlights

  • Keynote Speaker, Northwestern University Annual Heart Failure Symposium, 2016
  • Keynote Speaker, Bridgeport Hospital Annual Seminar, Yale University, 2015
  • Excellence in Clinical Trials Award, National Institutes of Health Heart Failure Network, 2012
  • Best Doctors In America, Castle Connolly, 2005-2010
  • Simon Dack Award, American College of Cardiology, 2009



Sign up to receive updates on educational opportunities, complimentary content, exclusive discounts, and more.