CMHC Faculty Members

Faculty of Tarsus Medical Group are leaders in healthcare

No data was found

Mariell Jessup

Mariell Jessup



Dr. Jessup is Chief Science and Medical Officer of the American Heart Association and an Emeritus Professor of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine.

Dr. Jessup has been a member of the committee to revise ACC/AHA Guidelines for the Management of Congestive Heart Failure, published in 2001 and most recently in 2005. She was the Chair of the ACC/AHA Guidelines focused update for heart failure; published in March, 2009. As the Vice-Chair of that same committee, the newest version of the heart failure guidelines was published in 2016. She served on the European Society of Cardiology’s Heart Failure Guideline writing committee as well. She has also served as the Chair of the American Board of Internal Medicine’s (ABIM) Cardiovascular Board. Dr. Jessup served on the American Heart Association’s Council of Clinical Cardiology Program Committee, and was a member-at-large on the AHA annual meeting’s program committee. She served for two years as the Chair of the Committee for Scientific Sessions Program of the AHA. She was a member of the Board of Directors of the national AHA, and was the President from 2013-2014.. She completed a 4-year term as an ABIM representative for the Residency Review Committee-Internal Medicine of the ACGME, and a 6-year term on the ABIM’s Cardiovascular Board. She joined the Board of the Advanced Heart Failure and Transplant cardiology secondary subspecialty, and became Chair, serving for two years. She was the Chief Scientific Officer of the Leducq Foundation from January 2017 through August of 2018, before moving to the American Heart Association role.

Education and Training

Professional Highlights


Sign up to receive updates on educational opportunities, complimentary content, exclusive discounts, and more.