CMHC Faculty Members

Faculty of Tarsus Medical Group are leaders in healthcare

Come see me speakCMHC Spring 2023, Taming the Flames: Inflammation in Cardiometabolic Disease

Stephen A. Harrison

San Antonio, Texas

Stephen A. Harrison

Internal Medicine and Gastroenterology


Dr. Stephen A. Harrison, FACP, FAASLD is the medical director of Pinnacle Clinical Research. He is board certified in internal medicine and gastroenterology.

Dr. Harrison is a visiting professor of hepatology at the Radcliffe Department of Medicine at the University of Oxford. Previously, he was a professor of medicine at the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences.

He served in the United States Army for over 20 years, retiring in 2016 with the rank of Colonel. While serving, Harrison served as the director of Graduate Medical Education at Brooke Army Medical Center, associate dean for the San Antonio Uniformed Services Health Education Consortium, and was a gastroenterology consultant to the Army Surgeon General.

He was an associate editor of Hepatology and now is an associate editor of Alimentary Pharmacology and Therapeutics. He is a peer reviewer for over 20 medical journals and is known internationally for studies in hepatitis C and non-alcoholic fatty liver disease.

Education and Training

  • Hepatology Fellowship, St. Louis University, 2003
  • Gastroenterology Fellowship, Brooke Army Medical Center, 2002
  • Residency, Brooke Army Medical Center, 1998
  • Internship, Brooke Army Medical Center, 1996
  • Medical Degree, University of Mississippi School of Medicine, 1995
  • Bachelor's Degree, University of Mississippi, 1991

Professional Highlights

  • Fellow, American College of Physicians
  • Fellow, American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases
  • Best Doctors List, SA Scene Magazine, 2017
  • Colonel William Crosby Superiority in Research Award: Army Chapter, American College of Physicians, 2008
  • Order of Military Medical Merit, 2007
  • Research Excellence in GI and Liver (REGAL) Award, 2006
  • Gastroenterology Core Curriculum Revision Committee, 2005
  • Key Clinical Faculty- Brooke Army Medical Center, Department of Medicine, 2005-2022
  • William Beaumont Clinical Research Award, 2003, 2007-2008
  • National AF ACP Meeting, Jay P. Sanford Award - Best Fellow Research Presentation, 2002
  • John L. Carpenter Award, Outstanding Resident Paper, 1998
  • First Place Podium Presentation, National Army ACP Meeting, 1997
  • Outstanding Junior Resident Award, 1997
  • RADM Dennis Wright Military Medical Student of the Year Award, 1995


Sign up to receive updates on educational opportunities, complimentary content, exclusive discounts, and more.