CMHC Faculty Members

Faculty of Tarsus Medical Group are leaders in healthcare

Come see me speakWomen’s Cardiometabolic Health and Wellness Masterclass 2023

Fatima Cody Stanford, MD, MPH, MPA, MBA

Boston, Massachusetts

Fatima Cody Stanford, MD, MPH, MPA, MBA

Obesity Medicine


Dr. Fatima Cody Stanford practices and teaches at Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School. She is one of the first fellowship-trained obesity medicine physicians in the world. Dr. Stanford has served as a health communications fellow for the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and as a behavioral sciences intern at the American Cancer Society. She also completed a media internship at the Discovery Channel, and was the recipient of the Gold Congressional Award – the highest honor the U.S. Congress bestows upon America’s youth.

Education and Training

  • Master of Business Administration, Quantic School of Business and Technology, 2021
  • Obesity Medicine and Nutrition Fellowship, Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School, 2015
  • Master of Public Administration, Harvard University Kennedy School of Government, 2015
  • Zuckerman Fellow, Harvard Center for Public Leadership
  • Internal Medicine and Pediatrics Residency, University of South Carolina, 2012
  • Medical Degree, Medical College of Georgia School of Medicine, 2007
  • Master of Public Health, Emory University, 2001
  • Bachelor of Arts, Emory University, 2000

Professional Highlights

  • Dr. Anthony E. Karpas Memorial Lecture Award, Georgia Society of Endocrinology, 2022
  • Memorial Award Lecture, Department of Nutrition Federal University of Santa Catarina, 2022
  • Distinguished Alumni Award, Emory University Rollins School of Public Health, 2021
  • Dr. Edmond and Rima Cabbabe Dedication to the Profession Award, American Medical Association (AMA), 2021
  • Grant Rodkey Award, Massachusetts Medical Society (MMS), 2021
  • Clinician of the Year, The Obesity Society, 2020
  • Clinician of the Year Award, Suffolk District Medical Society Community, 2019
  • Reducing Health Disparities Award, MMS, 2019
  • Harold Amos Diversity Award, Harvard Medical School, 2017
  • Award for Women’s Health, MMS, 2017
  • Young Leadership Award, American College of Physicians (ACP) Massachusetts Chapter, 2015
  • Inspirational Physician Award, AMA, 2015
  • Joseph E. Johnson Leadership Award, ACP, 2013
  • Paul Ambrose Award for national leadership among resident physicians, AMA, 2009
  • Foundation Leadership Award, AMA, 2005


Sign up to receive updates on educational opportunities, complimentary content, exclusive discounts, and more.